Google Drive Preferences – What are the Options available in Back Up and Sync


Once you install the PC version of Google Drive (Back up and Sync) , there are lot of setting to choose from. These can be used to improve upload speed, change network settings, decide the quality of photos and videos, the type of back up and auto-upload of USB media etc.

To first use “Preferences” in Back up and Sync of Google Drive, double-click the cloud icon in the system tray. Don’t get confused of different cloud based services like OneDrive, DropBox, Box, AmazonDrive, iCloud and many others.

The icon for OneDrive and Google Drive look similar, but are different.

Click on the vertical three dots on the pop-up the comes up. You should see “Preferences“.

What are the Settings available in Preferences

There are 3 basic things available here.
1. My Computer
2. Google Drive
3. Settings

What are the Options available under “My Computer”

The following things are available here. You can choose what folders to continuously back up to Google Drive. These include default folders like Desktop, Documents, Pictures etc. You can also add additional folders.

Here there is a setting to choose what to backup. Click on “Change” to see the options.

1. Back up all files and folders
2. Back up photos and videos

Related :  Working Fix to Solve Google Chrome high CPU usage in Windows 10

a. Back up screenshots
b. Back up RAW files

There are also advanced settings. Here you can ignore files with particular extensions to not sync with your Google Drive. You can specify what extension files are not supposed to back up. Otherwise you can leave the default option, which is “Back up all files and folders“.

Below that there is Photo and Video upload size option.

You can decide whether you want original quality photos and videos or high quality. There is a difference between the two. If you want high quality, then you have unlimited storage. But if you select original quality, it will count towards your Google Drive storage.

Also when “Removing items“, you have 3 choices.
1. Ask me before removing items everywhere
2. Don’t remove items everywhere
3. Remove items everywhere

This will help sync deleted items. For example, if you deleted a file in your sync folder on your computer, it will be deleted from Google Drive on the server also. It will be put to Trash, so that you can decide what to do later.

The above options will be helpful on the default behavior of removable items from the shared folder between your computer and Google Drive.

  • If you chose the first option, it will give a warning message before it’s deleted from the server also.
  • The second option will delete the files on the PC, but keep it on the server.
  • The third option will remove files from both your PC sync folder and Google Drive, without any warning.
Related :  Google One Review 2019 - Features, Benefits, Pricing and Family Options

The Google Photos is another option available here. You can decide whether the newly added photos and videos are added to Google Photos or Google Drive. You can check your Photos Settings to see which items from Google Drive are shown in Google Photos.

There is another option called – USB Devices & SD Cards. If you have old camera micro SD card or when you connect your mobile through USB device, you can automatically back up photos and videos.

What are the options available under Google Drive Setting

In this setting there are two options 1. Folder location 2. Sync option

Once you install Back up and Sync, it will decide the default location of Google Drive on your PC. All the folders and files in this location are backed up to Google Drive on the web or server. If you want to change the default location, it can be changed during installation phase.

Then you can decide whether you want to sync everything on Google Drive to this computer and vice versa or not.

Note: To save bandwidth, you can sync only important folders from Google Drive to your PC. In this way, you will have the complete back up of the required folders on your Google Drive account, but only certain folders will be downloaded to your PC.

The Settings option

In this phase, you can upgrade storage to the required plan. 15GB of free space is allowed with each Google Account.  This includes Gmail also. But additional options are also available here.

Related :  How to Use Google Drive on Web and PC | Tips and Tricks

1. Show warning when you remove items from a shared folder
2. Open Back up and Sync on system startup
3. Show file sync status icons and right-click menu

To save bandwidth, Network settings can be used. If you are on a limited internet plan, you can decide what are the proxy settings, max. upload and download speeds. If you have slow issues also, you can set the default options.

Google Drive Preferences – What are the Options available in Back Up and Sync
Rate this post

0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment

 

Meet the Author

Palla Sridhar

I love being a Microsoft enthusiast and Tech lover. I Completed my M.Tech in Civil Engineering from IIT Kanpur, INDIA. My interests include Blogging, Surfing, Cricket, Books and Social Networking. I find solutions to problems on Windows, Outlook and Office.

Join #Amazon #Prime - Watch #Movies & #TV #Shows - Start Free Trial